January TBR

Posted January 9, 2019 by Vildea in Books, TBR Pile / 0 Comments

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a TBR and I’m trying to ease myself a little into it so I haven’t added too many books. I also tried to make sure I have a variety of genres so that I’ll hopefully find something that piques my interest. I’ve more or less chosen one book per week, although there are two books that release later this month and a comic.

I don’t think I’ll necessarily join any Read-A-Thons this month, just so I don’t overdo it and if I do, it’ll be a shorter kind of Read-A-Thon.

So, without further ado, let’s see what books I hope to read!

Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honoured for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince, the leader of a campaign against her people.

As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for.

Summary is from Touch of Magic which is the first book in the series.

I truly enjoyed the first book in this series and I wanted to have some kind of “traditional” fantasy represented so I figured that the sequel would be a good choice.


The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout


A story about friendship, survival and finding your voice

Growing up, Mallory Dodge learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime. Now, after years of homeschooling, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at a public high school. But she never imagined she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day. 

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet soon it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants and the truths that need to be heard.

This has been on my TBR for a very long time and I know from experience that contemporary novels are the way to go when I’m feeling a litttle burnt out and need to get out of a slump. I think I’m going to enjoy this one, the summary sounds like something I’ll enjoy so hopefully it lives up to it!


Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

First of all, the cover is utterly gorgeous and it’s why this initially caught my eye. And then I read the summary and it’s really up my alley with everything from the time it’s set in, the fact that there are multiple charterreise, this really sounds like something I’ll love and I’m really excited to read it.


Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

So this is a book I’ve wanted to read for a really long time, but have never actually sat down and read and I hear about this series so often that I’m just really curious which means it’s about time to get to it. It’s also not a very long book, which sounds nice and should help ease me into it too.


Big Book Challenge:

Next up is the book I pulled for the Big Book Challenge. I will admit that I initially pulled another one, but it’s over 2000 pages long and I thought that might be a little too intimidating to start so I put it back and pulled another one which was:

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

 

 

Like I mentioned in my Big Book Challenge post this is one I sort of started and that I’m really curious about. That the summary also mentions Agatha Christie (who I really love reading) didn’t hurt either. However, I put it down and didn’t pick it back up again so I’m starting it again (I believe I read about 20 pages the first time around) and hopefully finishing it this month or next.


January Releases

I’m not necessarily going to do this every month, but I’ll do it whenever there are books coming out that I think I’ll both buy and read pretty quickly. I do have a post where I go through the 2019 releases I’m really excited about so some of them might already be mentioned there. But others might be books that were either announced after I wrote that post or that I didn’t add because although I’m excited it didn’t quite make it to the top of the list.

All is Fair by Dee Garretson

When Lady Mina Tretheway receives a telegram at boarding school, she doesn’t want to read it. In 1918, with war raging, she dreads telegrams, knowing they never bring good news.

At first she doesn’t understand the cryptic message. Then she realizes it’s written in code, and the message leads her home to Hallington Manor. When Lord Andrew Graham appears with a dashing young American, Lucas Mueller, Mina learns that the two of them must work together on dangerous project for the war effort.

Thinking Mina is just a spoiled aristocrat, Lucas tries to complete the project alone, fearing her inexperience will give them away. But when the project goes very wrong, Mina and Lucas are thrown together to complete the mission before more soldiers disappear into the darkness of war.

Expected publication: January 22nd 2019

The cover is what initially got to me, but the time this is set in and the summary has me intrigued. It does release closer to the end of the month so I’m not sure if I’ll get to it before the month ends, but I’d like to try! (Besides, the book below releases even closer to the end of the month)


The Love & Lies of Rukhsana Ali by by Sabina Khan

Seventeen-year-old Rukhsana Ali tries her hardest to live up to her conservative Muslim parents’ expectations, but lately she’s finding that harder and harder to do. She rolls her eyes instead of screaming when they blatantly favor her brother and she dresses conservatively at home, saving her crop tops and makeup for parties her parents don’t know about. Luckily, only a few more months stand between her carefully monitored life in Seattle and her new life at Caltech, where she can pursue her dream of becoming an engineer.

But when her parents catch her kissing her girlfriend Ariana, all of Rukhsana’s plans fall apart. Her parents are devastated; being gay may as well be a death sentence in the Bengali community. They immediately whisk Rukhsana off to Bangladesh, where she is thrown headfirst into a world of arranged marriages and tradition. Only through reading her grandmother’s old diary is Rukhsana able to gain some much needed perspective. 

Rukhsana realizes she must find the courage to fight for her love, but can she do so without losing everyone and everything in her life?

Expected publication: January 29th 2019

Like I mentioned I’ve been trying to make sure that this TBR isn’t overly represented with one genre over another so that I have something to choose between. However I also wanted to make sure I try to read a little diverse and this book sounds really cute and interesting. It does release incredibly close to the end of the month so you might see it again on my February TBR, but I’m going to try and we’ll see how it goes!


So that’s what I’m hoping to get through this month. When this post goes up I might already have started and (hopefully?) even finished one of these so I’m hoping this is the way to go to get myself to read consistently again.

What are your reading plans this month?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.